Town-Financed Community Housing Oversight Committee (T-CHOC)

About the Town-Financed Community Housing Oversight Committee (T-CHOC) 

The Town-Financed Community Housing Oversight Committee (T-CHOC) was established by the Select Board in 2023. T-CHOC will oversee the use of funds appropriated by the Town to support the development of community housing by third parties and advise Town boards, committees, and Town Meeting on the use of those funds.  

The T-CHOC will:

  1. Monitor Town investments (through grants, loans or otherwise) in the development, creation, rehabilitation, restoration, preservation or support of community housing (collectively, “Community Housing Projects”) by third parties. 
  2. Meet regularly to review the progress of Community Housing Projects in which the Town has made an investment. 
  3. Meet with the developer’s project team to review project status, finance update, schedule, and the like.
  4. Provide advice to the Community Preservation Committee (CPC), Select Board, Finance Committee and Town Meeting as to the appropriateness of expenditure of Town funds and the advisability of future investment in the project.
  5. Elect a chair and vice chair who shall rotate at least biannually. 
    1. The Committee Chair is responsible for the timely posting of all Committee meetings. 
  6. Provide minutes of all meetings, both open and executive sessions. The minutes must be typed and include: 
    1. Date, time and location of meeting
    2. Names of those members present and absent
    3. A record of all votes, decision, and actions taken
    4. Brief summary of the discussion
    5. A list of the documentation and other exhibits used at the meeting. 

Agendas, Agenda Packets, Minutes


The T-CHOC consists of eight residents, appointed by various bodies, and two non-voting, ex-officio Town staff members. Each appointment will be for three years.

Seat/Appointing Body
Year Appointed
Term Expiration
John ConnellyCurrent Finance Committee Member/Finance Committee20232026
Irwin SilversteinCurrent or Former Member of the Permanent Public Building Committee (PPBC)/PPBC
Cathy DowdCurrent Select Board Member/Select Board20232026
Peter PingtoreCurrent or Former Member of the Community Preservation Committee (CPC)/CPC
Avery NewtonCurrent Affordable Housing Trust (AHT) Member/AHT
Rhonda Spector At-Large, with Experience in Housing Finance/Select Board20232026
Rick Zimbone 
 At-Large/Select Board20232026
Katie KingDeputy Town Manager - Director of Operations, ex-officio/Select Board20232026
Dave DavisonDeputy Town Manager - Director of Finance, ex-officio/Select Board20232026

State Representative, ex-officio