Harry Potter Readalikes

Artemis Fowl(Artemis Fowl series) by Eoin Colfer, Y Fiction Colfer, Y Books on CD Colfer, Y Playaway Colfer
When a twelve-year-old evil genius tries to restore his family fortune by capturing a fairy and demanding a ransom in gold, the fairies fight back with magic, technology, and a particularly nasty troll.

Amulet of Samarkand(Bartimaeus Trilogy) by Jonathan Stroud, Y Fiction Stroud, Y Books on CD Stroud
Nathaniel, a magician's apprentice, summons up the djinni Bartimaeus and instructs him to steal the Amulet of Samarkand from the powerful magician Simon Lovelace.

Cirque du Freak(Cirque du Freak/Saga of Darren Shan) by Darren Shan, Y Fiction Shan
Two boys who are best friends visit an illegal freak show, where an encounter with a vampire and a deadly spider forces them to make life-changing choices.

Dealing With Dragons(Enchanted Forest Chronicles) by Patricia Wrede, Y Fiction Wrede
Bored with traditional palace life, a princess goes off to live with a group of dragons and soon becomes involved with fighting against some disreputable wizards who want to steal away the dragons' kingdom.

Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp (Alfred Kropp) by Rick Yancy, Y Fiction Yancy, Y Books on CD Yancy
Through a series of dangerous and violent misadventures, teenage loser Alfred Kropp rescues King Arthur's legendary sword Excalibur from the forces of evil(.

The Golden Compass(His Dark Materials) by Phillip Pullman, Y Fiction Pullman, Y Books on CD

The Lightning Thief(Percy and the Olympians) by Rick Riordan, Y Fiction Riordan, Y Books on CD Riordan
Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson learns he is a demigod, the son of a mortal woman and Poseidon, god of the sea. His mother sends him to a summer camp for demigods where he and his new friends set out on a quest to prevent a war between the gods.

Magyk (Septimus Heap) by Angie Sage, Y Fiction Sage
After learning that she is the Princess, Jenna is whisked from her home and carried toward safety by the Extraordinary Wizard, those she always believed were her father and brother, and a young guard known only as Boy 412--pursued by agents of those who killed her mother ten years earlier.

Mister Monday (Keys to the Kingdom) by Garth Nix, Y Fiction Nix
Arthur Penhaligon is supposed to die at a young age, but is saved by a key that is shaped like the minute hand of a clock. The key causes bizarre creatures to come from another realm, bringing with them a plague. A man named Mister Monday will stop at nothing to get the key back. Arthur goes to a mysterious house that only he can see, so that he can learn the truth about himself and the key.

Ruins of Gorlan(Ranger's Apprentice) by John Flanagan, Y Fiction Flanagan, Y Books on CD Flanagan, Y Playaway Flanagan
When fifteen-year-old Will is rejected by battleschool, he becomes the reluctant apprentice to the mysterious Ranger Halt, and winds up protecting the kingdom from danger.

Revenge of the Witch (Last Apprentice) by Joseph Delaney, Y Fiction Delaney, Y Books on CD Delaney
Young Tom, the seventh son of a seventh son, starts work as an apprentice for the village spook, whose job is to protect ordinary folk from "ghouls, boggarts, and all manner of wicked beasties."

So You Want To Be A Wizard(Young Wizards) by Diane Duane, Y Fiction Duane
Thirteen-year-old Nita, tormented by a gang of bullies because she won't fight back, finds the help she needs in a library book on wizardry which guides her into another dimension.

Please be aware that we may have additional copies of the book not visible in the links above. The book on CD or tape may also be available. Search the catalog for additional titles or ask a reference librarian for further assistance.